MVMA Awards

Each year at our Annual Meeting in November, MVMA recognizes one of our outstanding members as Volunteer Director of the Year. Nominations for this award are accepted in September and October.An Awards Committee, chaired by the previous year’s winner, selects the recipient. MVMA’s mission is to promote the field of volunteer management and recognizing excellence in the field is one way the organization raises the profile of volunteer managers in the region. Nominees must be current members of MVMA with at least two years of experience as a volunteer manager. Winners must demonstrate not only managerial excellence, but also a real commitment to volunteer engagement and promoting volunteerism.

2015 Volunteer Director of the Year:2015 MVMA Annual Awards Meeting - kristy bull VD winner

Kristy Bull, Lutheran Senior Services Hospice

“In her short time in her role, she has reviewed and refined every
aspect of her program to ensure that she is operating around best
practices and regulations. She moved from a group training approach
to an individualized training for volunteers, allowing her to build a
rapport with the volunteer and learn of their strengths early on. Her
volunteer team has tripled and the regularly exceed their goals for
volunteer hours. In the past year, she established a program to honor
veterans served by Hospice. She participates in a weekly care team
meeting so she identify patient needs. As a result, she has established
volunteers as a valuable component of the care given to patients and
families alike.”


Join us in congratulating those who were also nominated for this year’s award:

Pat Etling, Southwestern Illinois College, Programs & Services for Older People

Rose Rita Huelsmann, SSDN, Criminal Justice Ministry

Katelind Rohde, United Way of Greater St. Louis


Past Winners

We are trying to piece together a full list of our award recipients. If you can help us, please email any information you have to

Year MVMA Volunteer Director of the Year
2014 Anne Grossmann, Forest Park Forever
2013 Pepi Pershall, St. Louis Public Library
2012 Mary Rosen, American Red Cross
2011 Steve Eads, LifeSkills
2010 Kim (Zamastil) Westerman, St. Patrick Center
2009 Elizabeth Pawloski, University of Missouri-St. Louis
2008 Candice Arriola, Oasis
2007 Lauren Connors, Humane Society
2006 Jennifer Phillips, Alzheimer’s Association
2006 Jackie Juras, Missouri Botanical Garden
2004 Katie Valfer, Jewish Federation of St. Louis
2003 Barbara Fradkin, St. John’s Hospital >
2002 Judi Ashley, St. Patrick Center
2001 Laura Falk, Covenant House Missouri
2000 Shirley Janes, Internal Revenue Service
1999 Jeff Campbell, St. Louis Chapter American Red Cross
1998 Michael Gray, Salvation Army
1997 Lynette Ballard, St. Anthony’s  Medical Center
1996 Barbara Bauer, St. Patrick Center
1995 Nancy Warden, Humane Society of Missouri
1994 Billie Darrow, James S. McDonnell USO
1993 Sally, Howell, Christian Hospital NE/NW
1992 Sue Woolweaver, St. Louis Chapter American Red Cross